New Hires

Janine Santimauro is the new depart­ment administrator for Boston Children’s Hospital’s Depart­ment of Cardiology. She has 14 years of health care finance, administration and policy experience at both the local and national level. She graduated from Villanova University with a BS in business administration and finance and then later, from the University of California, Berkeley, with a master’s degree in public policy, as well as a master’s degree in public health, specializing in health policy and man­agement.




Christina Vander­Pluym, MDearned her medical degree at the University of Alberta in Canada, followed by resi­dency in pediatrics and cardiology at the Stollery Chil­drens’ Hospital. She completed fellowship training in heart transplantation and heart failure at Boston Children’s Hospital. She special­izes in mechanical circulatory support with special interest in ventricular assist devices for complex congenital heart disease.


Michelle Hurtig, MSN, RN, a part of our Cardiovascular Program team since 1996, has advanced her career at Boston Children’s from an inpatient and pro­cedural staff nurse (cardiac catheterization lab) to nurse manager for the cardiac catheterization lab and imaging suite, to her current role as director of Nursing and Patient Services in our cardiovascular inpatient/ ICP unit. Michelle holds a BSN from Fitchburg State College and an MSN in nursing administration from Simmons College.



Jason Thornton, RN, MSN, CCRN, CPHQ, NE-BChas advanced his career at Boston Children’s from a staff nurse III in the CICU to his current role as director of Nursing and Patient Services for cardiovascular intensive care and operating rooms. Jason’s leadership has been essential to the success of the Medicine Intensive Care Unit (MICU) and ICU Information Systems as nurse manager. Jason holds a BSN from the University of Pennsylvania and an MSN in nursing informatics from Duke University.


Awards and honors

David Clapham, MD, PhD The Heart Center’s Dr. Clapham is a recipient of a 2012-2013 William Silen Lifetime Achievement in Mentoring Award. Presented by the Harvard Medical School Office for Diversity Inclusion and Community Partnership, this award acknowledg­es that “successful career development in basic/ clinical medicine (teaching, research, clinical, administration) requires the experience of quality mentoring relationships.

Vassilios J. Bezzerides , MD, PhD John S. LaDue Memorial Fellowship in Cardiology from Harvard Medical School

Martha A.Q. Curley, RN, PhD Claire Fagin Award at the University of Pennsylvania and American College of Critical Care Medicine’s (ACCM) Distin­guished Investigator Award

John Kheir, MD The AstraZeneca IChemE 2012 Awards Innovative Product of the Year

Michael Landzberg, MD Parmley Prize, American College of Cardiology

Gerald R. Marx, MD Physician of the Year Award: 2013 American Heart Association

Roy and Gina Driscoll Hearts and Minds Award, American Heart/American Stroke Association

William Pu, MD 2013 E. Mead Johnson Award from the Society for Pediatric Research

John Triedman, MD Fulbright Specialists Roster, Council for International